18.235

Submission boundary commission

Changes to Ashbourne District

Area Meath East

Ashbourne, Ratoath and Bettystown/Laytown district.

Meath was split into 6 new municipal districts before the local elections in 2014. The three former town councils were disbanded so Trim, Kells and Navan Councils no longer exist. Each district differs in size but has similar populations ranging from 30,000 to 34,000 in population. The current population in Meath is 195,000 citizens and is set to grow substantially in the future.

The new Ashbourne district is made up mainly by the old Dunshaughlin, Navan and Slane Electoral districts. We have 6 Councillors and our Municipal district meetings take place in the civic building in Ashbourne.

We have two minor anomalies I would like to rectified in our MD.

Baltrasna/Fleenstown/Harlockstown

These area have a postal address and Eircode for Ashbourne, the people living here do their daily business in Ashbourne, their children were educated in Ashbourne and they even vote in the Ashbourne Community centre. They used to be part of the Donaghmore South area. The area is currently in the Ratoath district and infrastructural projects like bus stops and footpaths cannot take place as Ratoath Councillors see the area as being a part of Ashbourne historically. We would like this area to be a part of Ashbourne MD

Millrace, Duleek

The second area in the Millrace housing estate in Duleek. This estate is located in Ashbourne MD while the rest of Duleek is in the Bettystown/Laytown district. The Bettystown/Laytiwn Councillors sit in Duleek on their monthly meetings and again the people here in Millrace have no affiliation to Ashbourne itself [images attached below]

Thanks and regards

Councillor Alan Tobin Fine Gael



